Gift!

By: swaps

Aug 27 2009

Category: Uncategorized

17 Comments

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:31.5mm
ISO:640
Shutter:1/40 sec
Camera:Canon PowerShot SX100 IS

A mug for a gift that reminded me of this poem…

You must admit…

I shall never be sated!
I like to displease and be hated.

With more calm, fortune and fame
What should I do?

Seek out a powerful patron to pursue?
Cling to him like a vine?

Wind around him to fawn and whine?
And rise through ruse instead of merit?

No merci !

Compose, as a rule
poems for usurers?

Play the fool
hoping to see some minister
give a smile that’s not sinister?

No merci !

Breakfast off a toad?
Grovel on the dirty road?

Wear the knees of my breeches through?
And kiss feet too?

No merci !

Find genius in imbeciles?
And let out shrill squeals
of regret
when my name is missing
from some gazette?

No merci !

Be scared of being thought paltry?
Prefer social visits to poetry?

Write placets and be introduced?
No
merci ! No merci !

But sing, dream…laugh…

move on…

be alone…

have a choice…

have a watchful eye
and a powerful voice

wear my hat awry…

fight for a poem if I like

and perhaps even die.

Never care about fame or fortune
and even travel to the moon!

Triumph by chance on my own merit.

Refuse to be the clinging ivy nor even
the oak or the Lime.

Perhaps I’ll not get far.

But I’ll get there alone.

17 comments on “Gift!”

  1. Powerful words of a determined mind. Apt photo.

  2. I admit!! šŸ˜› šŸ˜›

    And an apt gift for someone as twisted as you šŸ˜ˆ

  3. ‘And an apt gift for someone as twisted as you ‘
    agree fully with these words !.

  4. Twisted? šŸ˜ˆ Swaps? šŸ˜Æ Now that’s an unexpected twist in the tale! šŸ™‚

  5. bend the rules…a nice indigo slogan :))

  6. Hmmm…..leaning like the “Tower of Pisa”….but why are you perceived as twisted??? (only an innocent question).

  7. I actually liked the detail of water droplets on the mug! nice gift!


Leave a Reply

