‘Kipper’

Today is 110th birth anniversary of Field Marshal K.M.Cariappa.

May I quote him..

“I don’t care a damn if a man is a Hindu, Muslim, Sikh, Parsi or Christian as long as he plays the game to serve our country well. This is all that matters to me.”

In the 1965 war, his son, Flt. Lt. K. C. Cariappa, was captured. The then ruler of Pakistan, Gen. Ayub Khan, who had worked closely with Field Marshal Cariappa before the partition, offered to release his son. To this…

“Thousands of my sons are fighting in this war. Every Indian PoW is my son. There is no need for any special gesture regarding my son. No exception need be made.”

Btw, here are some snaps of his beloved native, Mercara, from my archives

The woods,

Iruppu Falls,

Dear,

..and elephant


8 comments on “‘Kipper’”

  1. Remember Sam? One more, the One with a long nose?

    “I’m always ready, sweetie,”- 1971 war, on being asked by Indira Gandhi about the Indian Army’s readiness.

    “Don’t you think I would be a worthy replacement for you, Madam Prime Minister? You have a long nose. So have I. But I don’t poke my nose into other people’s affairs.”- To Indira Gandhi,on rumors of him planning a coup to replace her.

    When they said ‘Do you have it in you?’ perhaps they meant like DG, Sam, Kipper- a long nose?

  2. Swaps, So thoughtful of you to have posted one about a real hero! I just wish we can all learn from the quote – religion is only a means to quench your own thirst of spiritualism – not to divide us into groups/categories.

    @ Adarsha, Sam Maneckshaw’s witty remarks to Indira quoted in the commentspace refreshes our memories about the soldiers of our country who achieved great heights – thanks!

  3. @Adarsha, when you remember one of them, you end up thinking of all of them – the long nose walas. I have a prominent facial outcrop, but do I have ‘it’ in me? Time will decide. Thanks for signaling you are alive πŸ™‚

    @Gopi, you know what I think, religion is only a stepping stone, the sooner we leave it behind the sooner we can move ahead towards spirituality. Thanks, I wasn’t expecting this post would inspire a spiritual comment!!

  4. Wow! That is indeed a very noble deed. Gives me faith in humanity that there are still people out there with strong core principals.

  5. Facial crop does not mean that you have ‘it’ in you…you need to decide and not the Time…remember future is causal πŸ˜‰
    If religion is a stepping stone then you are bound to carry the detritus along with you…then it ain’t any longer ‘spiritual’?
    Why don’t these discussions happen at my blog πŸ˜‰ ?

  6. Today’s leaders can learn a thing or two from him. People today are too liberal when it comes to their own children and hence either spoiling them in the process or weakening them by not allowing them to fight their own battles. Too much of love is also not good….

    Destination Infinity


Leave a Reply

