The Eaglet

A small tribute to General de Gaulle on his 118th birthday.

He was the guy who lived by…

“Many men may hold conference, one man alone must act”.

And, who knew ‘Cyrano de Bergerac’ by heart !!

A leader doesn’t serve his people or country, he is true to his vision alone.

11 comments on “The Eaglet”

  1. “Cyrano de Bergerac” – i did not understand :(…is it french???

    I know Paris airport is called Charles De Gaulles but never knew who he was….the quote seems very true both urs and his…. πŸ™‚

  2. Sahaja, Gen. de Gaulle led French resistance during WWII. Later, as French president scripted French renaissance as an independent power.
    His credo was ‘France is not France without grandeur‘.
    That’s is how a leader thinks. I think that is Gaullism in short.

    Cyrano de Bergerac is a novel. Its hero, Cyrano, too is like de Gaulle…arrogant and independent. And yes, both had unusually big noses πŸ™‚
    Cyrano de Bergerac is also my fav movie.

  3. I can imagine why you admire him πŸ™‚

  4. Thanks for introducing the great man! πŸ™‚

  5. Sakhi, the pleasure is mine. Gen. de Gaulle is not widely known in India. Also, do watch the movie.

  6. I don’t know about him.. but glad to get introduced now. Thank you πŸ™‚

  7. Yeah, sure, that’s an old one, I remember… isn’t it that I reminded you abt. that πŸ˜‰

  8. Though I’m not exactly a fan of Charles de Gaulle, he was a great military strategist and played a major role in building modern France.

  9. @Adarsha dear, you didn’t remind me of his birthday, but yes, you made me post this.

    @Raj, Gen. de Gaulle was also a talented writer, you know? He wrote his memoirs himself with only clerical help from his daughter. I can go on talking about him….he was peerless leader.

  10. I didn’t know that, Swaps. Thanks for the info!


Leave a Reply

