Enigma

An elephant that had slept facing north, had the good ‘fortune’ to lend its head to Ganesha.

Cute ganesha is an enigma…a God made of symbolisms.

14 comments on “Enigma”

  1. Ganesha is one of the most powerful archetypes in the human history.

  2. Axinia, you are invoking Carl Jung here??
    I hope someday you will elaborate on your comment. I cann’t understand why he should have been given an elephant’s head, a snake for a belt and why, of all things, a rodent for his favourite vehicle. Why didn’t he marry?

  3. Ganesha is an archetype of an Eternal Child – he does not need to marry, he stays in his boundaris as a child.

    Indian philosophy is full of methaphors and is truly meaningful. There is a meaning for every figure, every object (like a belt or rope)…We may never understand it fully, but it does not mean there is no sense.

    Apart from that – have you ever thought…that it is REAL?
    πŸ™‚

  4. Swaps,

    Ganesha is cute, no doubt about it . . . but why did he lose his head? πŸ˜• Why did the poor elephant also lose its head 😦

    Axinia,

    Hindu mythology is mostly that . . . full of MYTHS. But you seem to be lenient towards Ganesha . . . you have spared him from marriage πŸ™‚ Why don’t you think the same applies for Jesus πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

  5. Raj, I think you are much more clever than you know it yourself!
    Ganesha and Jesus are the same principle.

  6. Hmmm . . . I don’t think I’m clever, Axinia . . . I tend to take all religious beliefs with a pinch (rather a bucketfull) of salt. There are religious sects dedicated to the worship of Infant Jesus. So I guess you are opposed only to the advocacy of celibacy by the Catholic Church 😐 for humans . . . Ganesha and Jesus are not human but super-human πŸ™‚

  7. I was not aware of that Jesus-child worshiping sect – it is in India? (does not look like a western concept).

    “I guess you are opposed only to the advocacy of celibacy by the Catholic Church” – that is correct πŸ™‚ There are many other things in Chrisitanity, as well as in other religions that I find stupid and having really nothing in common with their great founders.

    yes, Christ and Ganesha are super-human, and yet it is the innocence/child archetype power that make them somewhat understandable for people.

  8. Oops, I guess there are no separate sects but they are a part of Catholicism. It looks like they exist in different parts of the world:

    http://www.religion-cults.com/childjesus/

  9. It is nice to see you both have taken over my blog πŸ™‚

    I think God has NOTHING to do with religion.
    Each man must discover his God by himself.

    @Axinia,
    “Apart from that – have you ever thought…that it is REAL?”
    You don’t say you have really met our cute Ganesha?? πŸ™‚

  10. As we discussed before on Axinia’s blog…… If we believe its real!! Einstein said that too….for the west!!
    Its the faith that makes something real/myth!!
    I believe in GOD and respect all religions!!
    There is a difference between myth and superstition……
    Myth is something our ancestors formed to make their children/off springs have the moral instilled in them right from childhood……a sort of stories which tend to be part of life eventually!! they are the bundles of wisdom and lessons learnt through their life!!
    Superstitions are those, which are distorted passing from generation to generation…….which generally is expected to happen!!

  11. “I believe in GOD and respect all religions!!”
    That’s good, but it is more important why you do so. Experience counts more than what is said in any scripture.

    Sahaja, you are a good person and nobody has anything to do with it. You are responsible for being so. And you alone may take the credit for it πŸ™‚

  12. ohh…hmm….ya I am not experienced enough for giving any statements….am too young and have not seen much….but I feel my belief stays with me all along……hope so, fingers crossed!! πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€

  13. “You don’t say you have really met our cute Ganesha??” I did not , yet πŸ™‚
    But I know where to find him.

  14. Hi, swaps!
    Nice blog! My first visit to your blog found me staying on…but I will come again for some more… Good work, swaps!

    You may like to read my blogpost link below
    http://whatnonsanz.blogspot.com/2008/09/my-internet-chat-with-ganapati-bappa.html

    Do read all my posts at my blog too!
    http://whatnonsanz.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

